521

It pierces through my head,
the sharp syllables of our unspoken words.
It suffocates the breath from my body,
the crushing silence that envelops every corner.
It immobilizes my every movement,
the brick walls we’ve constructed in animosity.

The glare in your eyes when I dare to look up,
the ice in your voice in every reply;
they drive me further into the barricade I’ve built,
they stretch the thread that holds us longer.

I’m sorry but I don’t know how to articulate these screams in my head.
I don’t know how to uncover the grave blanket smothering our room.
I don’t know how to break from my unyielding box,
And I don’t know how to enter yours.

It sinks my heart and dampens my face,
the thought that what I once believed was a lifelong, intricate and unbreakable stitch,
has in the span of one month,
become an unrecognizable, limp and lifeless piece of thread.

xSZHx

Leave a Reply

