So Why

I broke up with you so why, do I swallow back this lump, constricting my throat, threatening to overspill. Every time I think of you, and what we used to be.

I broke up with you so why does my mind numb, my body freeze. When my playlist shuffles to that song, unleashing forbidden memories.

If I broke up with you why then do these pangs of yearning for your voice, your glance, your touch,  tackle me from the blue, leaving my mind foggy, my heart crippled.

I broke up with you. But days like this,when the skies are a never ending blanket of gray drudgery, and the chilling beauty of flurries accompany my walk down this empty road, my mind is on repeat and I read and re-read our conversations. My thoughts, a gallery of us.

I broke up with you so why, does it hurt.

xSZHx

 

Leave a Reply

